Travel

Europe Trip – Summer and Sun rash


Yup, as what I said in the title, I have sun rash. I don’t know how common this term is but here is the explanation of it :

Sun rash is Sun allergy : an immune system reaction to sunlight, most often, an itchy red rash. Sun allergies are triggered by changes that occur in sun-exposed skin. It is not clear why the body develops this reaction.However, the immune system recognizes some components of the sun-altered skin as “foreign,” and the body activates its immune defenses against them. This produces an allergic reaction that takes the form of a rash, tiny blisters or, rarely, some other type of skin eruption. 

*source : internet

I went to EU in the beginning of summer time, in my mind always think that EU definitely not tropical countries so sunlight can’t be so strong. But, a very big BUT that I was wrong! Summer time means days longer than nights, and also mean that you will live under the sun from 9AM to 9PM and it’s hot.

To protect ourselves from the sun, those who have this allergy are advised to wear long sleeves shirt and long pants, and it sucks cause all the trendy, lovely summer outfits you see? say bye bye.

So I didn’t bring my medicated lotion for sun allergy along with me in the trip. After 4 days, I kinda have serious red rashes on both my arms and hands, it’s showing up more and more and itchy like hell. And surprisingly, I couldn’t find my lotion in all the pharmacies I’ve been to in France. This is my medicated lotion :

Caladryl Lotion with Calamine + Diphenhydramine Hydrochloride. This one will help reduce the itchiness and let all the rashes become dry then peel off.

Caladryl lotione2480d6f-8e52-4c3c-8ae4-a51000f7196a

>>> not available in France. Usually they only have the after sun lotion/cream/gel and these products are not gonna help you with this allergy. I also bought the Avene Cicalfate SkinRepair Emulsion to try but not helpful.

In the end, there was a pharmacist recommended me this one :

urgo-coups-de-soleil-spray-75ml

And happily it works *yay*

So anyone who get into the same situation as me, hope this blog will help you guys find a correct medicated lotion to use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

